Search
< Back to Product

Agri-Fab 55249 Gas s Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,749.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,699.99
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,699.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,699.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Agri-Fab 55249 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Easy To Use (7)
High Quality (6)
Fast (5)
Price (3)
Cons
Heavy (5)
Expensive (3)
Packaging (2)
Not very manuverable in ... (2)
Unreliable (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Leaf Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
43 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2597 Helpful Votes
Leaf Blowers Direct Recommended

The Agri-Fab 55249 Chip-N-Vac was designed for larger properties with many trees. Not only does this unit pick up leaves and other debris on the ground, it also acts as a 2" chipper. This gives the end user the ability to pick up and chip fallen limbs and branches. It is two tools in one at a very fair price.

Equipped with a 205cc Briggs & Stratton engine. This unit has more than enough power to rid your property of leaves, pine needles and grass clippings. The engine provides... more
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
80
manufacturers review image

Jake Wilson
Sales Manager
From The Manufacturer
Agri-fab Chip-n-vac Tow-behind Lawn Vacuum
The Agri-Fab Mow N Vac is the ultimate time saver when it comes to picking up leaves in the fall. The Mow N Vac connects to your riding mower or zero turn mower using the universal hitch. Once hooked up, the Mow N Vac hose connects to the mower deck with an adapter you cut to size, now you are ready to get started. All of the debris that you mow over gets sucked into the hose and then reduced again by the impellers inside of the Vac. When the large 26 bushel cart gets full, simply release the... more
Was this review helpful?
114
Dennis V. T.
Independence, MO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/15/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
We purchased this to pick up leaves at our house and two of our kids homes. It does a fantastic job of picking them up. It took about an hour to set it up and get it going. Biggest problem is what to do with all the leaves.

The leaves that go through the mower are somewhat chopped up, but the ones picked up with the remote hose are not. I have figured out a way to use the remote hose and some stove pipe and have the vacuum self unload and load into a trailer to haul away. This unit has made... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Dennis Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Dennis's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We ordered this on a Sunday evening and had it on Thursday set up and ready to go for the weekend. Great service and was shipped on a truck line that seems to take care of what they're hauling. Very easy to track the progress of the order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott O.
Hawley, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Recommended
If you use sometimes, it might be okay. I used it a lot and parts wore out too fast. I had it for two months. Let down.
Scott's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It said for commercial use. I think the thing is not commercial. Not sure on warrantee but wore out too quick"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Fred B.
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What It Was Intended To Do!
The Agri Fab was easy to assemble. The deck adapter was a challenge. There was no layout for a Toro ZT mower. Take your time measuring and cutting your layout.

The vacuum/chipper worked well, impressive really. I have 2 acres of yard and it was well worth the investment.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features, Easy To Store
Fred Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug H.
Heber City, UT
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Effective Piece Of Equipment.
Overall, very happy with the Chip-N-Vac. Very effective in picking up leaves rapidly. Long trailer is difficult to maneuver in tight spots.

Unfortunately I was using the hand held hose attachment (purchased separately) when a golf ball size rock was sucked up.

The impeller assemble and outer housing was damaged resulting in $220 worth of repair parts. Vacuum is very strong. Use caution when using with hand held attachment.
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Not very manuverable in tight spots
Doug Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug H.
Heber City, UT
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Effective Piece Of Equipment.
Overall, very happy with the Chip-N-Vac. Very effective in picking up leaves rapidly. Long trailer is difficult to maneuver in tight spots. Unfortunately I was using the hand held hose attachment (purchased separately) when a golf ball size rock was sucked up.

The impeller assemble and outer housing was damaged resulting in $220 worth of repair parts. Vacuum is very strong. Use caution when using with hand held attachment.
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Not very manuverable in tight spots
Doug Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve C.
The Plains, VA
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Product Is Great, The Shipping Awful
The product is great except the back door comes off easily while in operation, the packaging was awful. Dented on one side and basically ruined for looks. The shipping was the issue!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store, Id like it undamaged
Cons: Packaging
Steve Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Don G.
Howell, MI
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Seriously Consider The Chipper/vac A Life Saver.
I have an old Chip & Vac (perhaps 15 years or so) with which I maintain a heavily "treed" lawn of about 2 acres in Michigan. In the Fall, I spend the second half of October and the first 1/2 of November vacuuming leaves - almost daily.

I require the use of a hay elevator to empty the collection box onto a pile in the woods, because the leaf pile is over 10 feet high initially. It would be physically impossible for me to manually rake the yard and collect/dispose of the leaves... more
Don Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John S.
Plymouth, WI
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great! But Not Perfect.
The Pros:

Works great at picking up the leaves, even wet ones and blowing them into the mulcher and into the box. Little or no problems with clogging. Motor starts easily and has plenty of power. It's amazing how many leaves will fit into the box before it has to be emptied. Was pretty easy to finish up the assembly and get it running. The template for the plastic box attachment to my mower deck was accurate and fits well after I cut out the pattern.

Cons:

The mulcher was shipped on... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Packaging, Mistakes In Manufacturing
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
192
Larry
Lake Ozark, MO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/1/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
For The Price, Its Great
Wish it ground up the leaves better with the handheld pickup. Also hard to start after its been running, due to the big flywheel keeps the engine turning over after engine is shut off flooding the engine. We now slow it down and turn fuel off till it runs out of fuel. It will start right up then.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Larry Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
142
Ronald A.
Murray, KY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Much Too Heavy
This machine is a great tool but because of the location of the motor/blower/chipper the unit tongue weight is extremely heavy. The addition of a tongue jack/caster would greatly improve the manageability of this unit specially for older folks or someone like me with limited mobility and Cerebral Palsy. I installed a caster/tongue jack and because of the low ride height at the coupler the jack had to be modified. Also the 12' vacuum hose should be included.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Needs, Tongue Jack
Ronald Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Ed L.
Reeds Spring, MO
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Fine Machine
Easy to put together. I have only 4 things that need to be better planned in the engineering department.

#1. Needs a tongue mounted swing away jack because the tongue weight is very heavy (installed already for easier hook up).

#2. Needs a wider wheel base as the unit tends to be top heavy on the slightest grade (I'm installing a wider axle now).

#3. The extension hose should already be just 1 piece and cut to fit your own application and include 2 - 18" rubber bungee cords to... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Ed Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Bruce H.
Palenville, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tow Behind Leaf Vaccum
The back door is weak and put a small crack in it because of the force of the chute. Probable a small stone hit it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Bruce Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Michael P.
Zionsville, IN
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I hate raking leaves, this saved my marriage!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Have To Watch Going Around Tree
Michael Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
126
Denzel D.
Richland, MO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/4/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Story Or Facts
The only thing is, getting the elastic over the tube on the mower is nearly impossible. I am 82 years old and living alone. Also I had to get the unit cut in order to get it to fit on over the mower deck. As a usual thing I was able to do all this work myself.
Denzel Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Howard F.
Ashford, AL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/25/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Significant Time Savings, Very Satisfied
Purchased to take the place of my aging yard cleaners (off to college they go).
Very satisfied with this purchase, its use and its performance. The strengths and positives of this machine far outweigh the weaknesses of the design.

Though, to be realistic all items have room to improve. For this machine, these include:
1) Tilt function not great enough of an angle to adequately assist dumps.
2) Back hatch occasionally pops out of the bottom hooks, during use when/if challenged with... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Empty Tilt Latch Functionality Needs Improvement
Howard Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Tom B.
Sterling, MA
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Machine With Improvements Needed
II've owned the AgriFab leaf vac for 5 years. I have about 2 acres of lawn surrounded by trees, but little area to dispose of them so I need to haul them off my property. Before I bought the vac, I used about 150 huge contractor bags (compressed with leaves) to complete the job, transporting them in my SUV. This has reduced to about 50 bags and a much faster and easier process with limited raking and 1/3 the number of trips to dump the leaves.

The machine has great suction and performs well... more
Tom Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Agri-Fab/PED sells a hose extension kit that would allow more slack in the hose as you turn. This would take the pressure off of the hose clamp that is connected to the deck. I think this would fix your problem.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
John M.
Laurinburg, NC
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great.
I made a castering wheel for moving the machine around while not connected. It attaches through the existing holes of the tongue.

I can easily roll it wherever I need it stored. Set up was easy, thanks for that!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
John's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything happened just as advertised."
 more
Was this review helpful?
64
Ben H.
Kemmerer, WY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Good Addition To Our Parks Department
In Kemmerer we have 4 parks, Lots of trees involved. The Cities crews really liked the overall operation if the AgriFab chip & vac. really gets the leafs up off the ground, the only thing I would say from the crews point of view is they added a rake bracket to the outside of the box to carry rakes for clean up. Other than that great addition for speeding up the fall clean up of the cities parks.
Ben Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Thomas O.
Eaton, NH
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/26/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Chip-n-vac
Unit has not met my expectations. I've had engine problems. Engine will have to be replaced.
Pros: No Pros
Cons: Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Expensive, Had Trouble From The Start
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
The unit is not shipped with oil already in the tank, so you have to add the oil before running it. Running any engine without proper oil will damage the engine. We're sorry you've had this happen.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Please give us a call and we will be more than happy to resolve the issue. 217-728-8388. Thanks
more
Was this review helpful?
43
David B.
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/15/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Agri-fab
We bought the Agri-Fab vac and we like it so far. Got a few bugs to work out. The instructions could of been a little more in detail, but all and all it is good. We used it today with our John Deere 340 utility tractor. We have to get a longer hose but it worked out alright. The lawn looks better with the lose grass clipping up for sure.
Was this review helpful?
2127
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials