Search
< Back to Product

Billy Goat TKV650SPH Gas s Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,679.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,729.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Billy Goat TKV650SPH Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
3/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (3)
High Quality (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Self Propelled (1)
Fast (1)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Difficult To Use (2)
Heavy (2)
Hard To Start (1)
Doesn't do the job. (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Leaf Blower Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
43 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2597 Helpful Votes
Leaf Blowers Direct Recommended

One piece of equipment for all tasks whether you are mulching, chipping, or cleaning up litter and lawn debris. The Billy Goat TKV650SOH is perfect for your toughest residential or property maintenance jobs.

The self-propelled drive system makes this great for any hilly turf cleanup without feeling fatigued. Combine this with the 5-blade serrated impeller for maximum suction and a 12 to 1 debris reduction; you’ll be able to clear more with less downtime. The 40 gallon, mesh collection bag... more
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6415
Roy B.
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/16/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Billy Goat Self Propelled Lawn Vacuum W/ Chipper
I really like the unit and it seems to pick up the leaves and small limbs that have fallen. Have used the chipper on some larger limbs and very happy with the way it chips them to use in my garden for mulch. Just having one issue.

The plastic cover on the self propelled unit at the back acts somewhat like a fender over the rear wheels and it does not have enough clearance and drags on the wheel. Have not figured out a way to get more clearance.
Roy Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Roy's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Posted the issue about clearance on the rear wheels from the self propelled cover, but have not had a response. Need to use this weekend and going to have to figure out something to get the cover to clear the rear wheels adequately. Otherwise everything has been just fine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Marilyn C.
Boonton, NJ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Waste Of Time, Space & Money
With luck it vacuums up leaves and that's only if they are lying flat on level ground in one layer. It does not vacuum up the thousands of little maple-tree spinners that fall on the lawn and it only pushes along leaves that are more than just one layer high. It's heavy, as is the leaf waste bag when it's full.

The bag fills up almost immediately and is difficult to empty due to the canvas bag that all of the leaf mulch sticks to. Emptying the bag is also another project: since the bag... more
Pros: self-propelled
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Expensive, Doesn't do the job.
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Marilyn,
I am sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the performance of your Billy Goat model. I have not heard of these performance issues in the past. Have you reached out to Billy Goat technical support regarding the inability to vacuum multiple layers of leaves? Once again I am sorry that you are less than pleased with this unit and if we can be of further assistance, please feel free to reach out to us.

Thank you for your review and have a good day.
more
Marilyn's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience with Leaf Blowers direct was excellent. I'm REALLY sorry I can't say the same for the Billy Goat!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Terry S.
Yakima, WA
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Waited A Few Years To Get This
I got a TKV650SPH after looking at them and others for a few years. I used it this weekend on wet soaked leaves and was impressed how well it works, It pulls a little hard but started first pull every time and the bag full of wet leaves can be heavy but I just dumped it sooner.

I got the hose attachment and it was perfect for our rock gardens and hard to reach places. I must say I would not get one that does not have the self propelled option. It was a lot of money for me, but worth every... more
Pros: Reliable, Features, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Terry Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric C.
Hackettstown, NJ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/5/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Is Better!!
I've been a Billy Goat owner for 12yrs. You definitely appreciate new equipment when in hand. This unit gets the job done, and I'm looking forward for the next 12yrs or more to come!
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Glad To Ditch The Old Zipper Bag
Cons: A Little On The Loud Side With The Honda Motor
Eric Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Christopher B.
Homestead, FL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Equipment To Ramp Up Your Mulching And Composting
This is my first equipment of this type. I have ordered things truck freight and I am super impressed with how quickly this arrived. When you have a lot of leaves and debris, it is amazing how fast the bag fills.

Probably not necessarily viewed as a happy feature if your goal is to just remove, although it does a great job of that. However, if you are trying to accumulate material for mulching and composting, which I am, I know I'll never have to buy the stuff or have it hauled in.... more
Christopher Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Brad D.
Burlington, IA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Billy Goat Model Tkv650sph
Used it once and self propelled feature no longer works!! How do I get it fixed??? Should have bought it locally!!!!!))
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Brad,
I am sorry to hear of the self-propel feature no longer working on your Billy Goat leaf vacuum. I would recommend using the Billy Goat: Service Locator to determine the closest place to you to have this looked at an possibly repaired under warranty.

Once again I apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate you reaching out to us.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brad D.
Burlington, IA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mickey Mouse
I was shocked an almost $1700 machine did not come filled with oil!!! Gave me a bad taste about Billy Goat.
Brad Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Brad,
I do apologize for your dissatisfaction in the Billy Goat product you ordered. Often manufacturers do not ship these units with oil in an effort to avoid this from spilling during shipment. This unit will accept your standard 30 weight oil that can be purchased at any local hardware store.

Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will reach out to us in the future for any of your power equipment needs.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Reginald H.
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Billy Goat Tkv650sph
What an awesome machine. It's great for all year round!!!
Reginald Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Chris
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It's Just Ok
While it does very well at vacuuming, it does not shred very well. I have oak trees and most of the leaves remain whole or just get cut in half. It is very hard to get started. I have to use starter fluid when it is cold. It is really difficult to empty the bag if it gets more than half full since it gets so heavy. The self propel function works really well.
Pros: Self Propelled
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Expensive, Hard To Start
Was this review helpful?
90
Justin L.
Setauket, NY
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
I recently purchased this machine. The suction is incredible. I ran it through a dense carpet of leaves (First time I had picked up leaves this season), and the machine worked flawlessly. Very powerful. Works best on dry leaves. The wet stuff tends to clog the discharge shoot.

Machine out of the box will chop up leaves into smaller pieces, allowing for a higher yield per disposable leaf bag. I like the machine alot. And highly recommend this model for the added convenience of the on board... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable, High Quality
Justin Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Justin's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to find what you need. Best prices on the web."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Stephen M.
Richmond, TX
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/28/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impression
In general I am impressed with the quality and performance of the product. It seems to do a very good job and should be a worthwhile investment.
Stephen Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
108
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials