Search
< Back to Product

Dolmar PB-251.4 Gas s Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Dolmar PB-251.4 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (7)
Light Weight (4)
Reliable (3)
High Quality (3)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
None (1)
Expensive (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert S.
Wellington, FL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool!
I went from an electric blower to the 4 cycle Hand Held Leaf Blower. It started right out of the box and continues to start on the first pull.

I use it once a week for yard work/edging beds and driveway, and it does an excellent job. It does a good job with leaves but in south Florida, our grass is tall and thick. I would easily recommend this tool.
Robert Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rob
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Add Oil
Ran great out of the box but nowhere in the instruction manual did it say it had no oil in it. I also recently bought a honda string trimmer and it was very clear not to start before adding oil. I emailed the manufacturer and they gave an unprofessional response, with excuses.
Rob Does Not Recommend This Product
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Rob,
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. I do apologize for the manufacturers response to you regarding the need to add oil prior to start up. I have forwarded your review to my rep at Dolmar for further review. If we can assist with any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. Thank you once again and have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward S.
New Bedford, MA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/22/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Blower
never owned a leaf blower but the wife wanted me to have one. I did some research and liked the idea of a 4 stoke unit. I read all the positive reviews and bought the unit. Has everyone has stated the unit is very quite and starts with easy every time I've used it. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to buy a blower.
Edward Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John A.
Bradenton, FL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/12/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time Machine
My headline is appropriate as this machine really saves me time. I use it to blow out my pool enclosure, a task that too much time with a broom.

After mowing, it works great to clean off walkways, and the driveway.... Plenty of quiet power!! Love the 4 stroke, easy start, first time, every time. I would recommend this product.
John Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence J.
Spanish Fort, AL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/12/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
Almost moves more at idle speed than my electric blower on low. At high speed I could not be happier and the sound is much quieter than a 2 cycle. Easy start. Hope it lasts.
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Lawrence Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John L.
Kilgore, TX
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/6/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Blower
Needed another blower after my Stihl BG85 had mechanical problems. Looking for top rated blowers and found leaf blowers direct on web. They rated this blower as 2nd best seller, so I thought I would try it.

Liked idea of the 4 cycle. Placed order and got it in 3 days. Added oil & gas, read instructions, fired it up, and wow was it quiet. Did a good job with my leaves and just a little heavier than the Stihl. Starts with one pull, just prime & choke.
John Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerome M.
Glendive, MT
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good
This is a great Blower. No more mixing oil and gas, and it blows snow 2 to 3 inches. Starts well, so far so good, best blower ever owned.
Jerome Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin S.
Tinley Park, IL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Blower From A Great Dealer
Just got my Dolmar blower today. Was very pleased it arrived in 2 days! Took it out of the box, added 2.7 oz. of 10w-30 oil per the manual and gassed it up. Started on the first pull! It's very light weight, has all the power I need, and it's a 4-stroke. I'm sure based on all the excellent reviews I've read here and in my research before buying that the Dolmar PB-251.4 is going to be a pleasure to own. Highly recommended.

PS. I understand that Dolmar is owned by Makita and this same blower... more
Kevin Recommends This Dolmar Product
Kevin's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website. Easy online purchase. Super fast delivery. Buy with confidence. I actually used this company's "Leaf Blowers Direct" website."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin M.
Summerville, SC
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Blower
It starts very easy and is much quieter than the 2 strokes. It seems to have plenty of power and no more mixing oil and gas. So far I like it as long as it lasts it will be the be the best blower I have ever owned, and hopefully the last one I'll need for a whIle.
Kevin Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff W.
Shepherdsville, KY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Money Well Spent.
I was surprised when it started on the first pull.Quiet and no more mixing gas.The first day i ran 3 tanks of fuel through it.I am very pleased and will soon be buying another one to replace my other 2-cycle blowers. PED will be getting more of my business.Thanks
Jeff Recommends This Dolmar Product
Jeff's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick and easy deal with fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony Z.
Easton, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dolmar 24.5cc 4- Cycle Review
Packed well, did what instructions said, started right up and ran well. Very quiet even at full power. Works very well, would buy again.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Difficult To Use
Anthony Recommends This Dolmar Product
Anthony's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The only thing I have a problem with is I'm right handed and the intake sucks my pant leg in if I hold it to close. I hold it in front of me or use my left hand. Not a big deal because I only have to use it about 5 minutes a week after I mow the lawn."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ricky D.
Crestview, FL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dolmar 24.5cc 4-cycle Hand Held Leaf Blower
Great blower, Highest quality I have seen out there. Using non-ethanol gas on it. And my lawn mower forever, no parts being eaten by that crap. So much for living in a free country. Hope you get my rap. 4 cycle forever.
Ricky Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert L.
Millersburg, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Had purchased a PB-250.4 approximately 2 years ago and recently was stolen. Wanted to replace with the same make and model. This is very close to it and works like a charm. I am completely happy with this leaf blower and would recommend it to any homeowner.
Robert Recommends This Dolmar Product
Robert's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"First time user for this web site. Easy to use, prices are very competitive with Home Depot/Lowes/and local shops however to get what we wanted, make and model we had to use on line services. No one in this area carried the Dolmar. Thanks for the speedy delivery, it was received in less time than stated on the order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric T.
Altoona, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Easy to start ,fairly quiet ,so far so good .
Eric Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert S.
Wellington, FL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, Great!
The blower was delivered within a few days. Set up was straight forward. The blower started without a problem.

I have about 4 hours on it now and it has been problem free. Time will tell, but i would recommend this blower as a good buy.
Robert Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John K.
Granite Bay, CA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 12/7/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Experience
Wonderful machine, easy starting, quiet (for a leaf blower) and a big plus for being a 4 cycle machine. have had it less than a month so can't testify as to its longevity yet. Was shipped in a timely manner and received "on time."
John Recommends This Dolmar Product
John's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"As mentioned above, great experience overall, would use leafblowersdirect.com again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edwin H.
Alpine, CA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dry Wash Miner
I have been using one of these to operate small mining equipment. Overall a far superior blower than others I have used. The air cleaner is excellent for the dusty conditions. I had to buy a second blower because my wife took over the first one because it is very quiet when running.
Edwin Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Russell Z.
Monument, CO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Start Up
Very very difficult to start. I primed and primed, pulled and pulled but not a puff. Took out the spark plug, not a sign of gas. Got ready to take it to the nearest Makita repair shop some 25 miles from my home.

Decided to try a little starting fluid. Finally a little sputtering. Kept this up for several tries, finally it came alive! now to start the engine, I prime it 12 or 14 times. Hold the throttle wide open and pull the rope, and open the choke as soon as is gives a sputter.

The... more
Russell Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Blake
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best In Class?
Rented this model first, and learned the difference between 2 cycle and 4 cycle. Lighter weight, quieter, easier to start, and most important can do the job in half the time. Extremely happy with this product. Always nice to find a better product than what I thought was available.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Fast
Blake Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
201
Raymond R.
Westminster, MD
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantistic Blower!
For years I've been using 2 cycle blowers, I even had a 2 cycle snow thrower. With this machine being a 4 cycle unit, it's so much easier to work with no gas and oil to mix, and one of the best things is I don't smell that funky exhaust fume coming out of the unit. I liked the 4 cycle idea so much, that I bought a Honda 4 cycle string trimmer. Both of these machines are _the best!
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Durable, Features
Raymond Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Ken R.
Spring Branch, TX
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome 4-cycle Blower
The Dolmar has been a good buy in all aspects but one. It offers the well-known advantages of a 4-cyc machine....no oil-gas mix required, quiet running and starts easily. I would buy another one again.

Caveat....be sure to check on amaz*n.com for a better price. For example, the Makita BHX2500CA is listed at $185.49 + free shipping (May 2015). This machine and the Dolmar PB251.4 are twins with the same specs.
Ken Recommends This Dolmar Product
Ken's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The machine was shipped direct from the factory."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Matthew A.
Lancaster, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First 4-cycle Blower
I bought this unit to replace an aging 2-cycle blower that I had for years. This unit works well and starts easily. It's nice not having to worry about mixing fuel. I hope that this will be the last blower that I'll have to buy.
Matthew Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
70
James H.
Lancaster, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/13/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far It Is Working Well
I purchased this item after purchasing a rechargeable leaf blower I was not happy with and should of returned for the price I paid for it. It was my fault not realizing I could of returned it within 30 day's. I am happy with my new purchase.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
James Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
114
Dale B.
New Ulm, MN
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/20/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Blower
Bought this unit to help with sawdust cleanup at our woodworking factory- works awesome. Very happy with the product- have yet to actually try it out on leaves!

We opted for the 4 stroke so we didn't have to mix oil, or carry a separate SDS sheet for oil. The Dolmar works great- curious to see how it works clearing snow off of sidewalks this winter.
Dale Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Wayne
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/28/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Leaf Blower
I purchased this blower because I am done wasting my money on two-stroke models. They never last very long and in the spring they are a bear to start. Had this model for a few months now. It starts on the first pull every time and is powerful and quiet. At this point it is a great blower. Hopefully it will be durable.
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: None
Wayne Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary Y.
Snellville, GA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommended
The blower was the first Dolmar product I have ever owned. After a very simple assembly, which amounted to putting the blower tuber together, and adding fuel and oil, it only took a couple of cranks to start. It cranks easy and runs quietly (for a gas engine) being a 4-cycle, as I expected.

It blows harder at idle than my two battery powered blowers. I was a little anxious that this unit was priced lower than comparable brands and models, but it turns out this is an awesome blower. It's... more
Gary Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Kevin R.
Webster, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
This is my first leaf blower and I'm so glad I read reviews ahead of time and went with a 4 cycle machine. It's so much quieter than the noisy 2 cycle blowers and although it's a bit heavier than I might like, it's not objectionable as it's under 10 lbs.

Has a lot of power and can really move a lot of leaves at once, very important once the pile starts to get deep. It starts on the 1st pull every time and does a huge area on one tank of gas, plus you don't need to be mixing oil and fuel... more
Kevin Recommends This Dolmar Product
Kevin's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I will definitely send prospective buyers your way!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Chris B.
St. Augustine, FL
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Got To Love It.
This little jewel starts immediately and runs great. It has a quiet, low idle and plenty of power. It does run a little less speed or rpm than it's 2 cycle cousins but there does not seem to be any lack of wind that comes out of it. I like the 4 cycle better because there seems to be less vibration and you don't the get the gyroscopic reaction bringing it up to full bore as you do in the 2 cycle.

That is important when using it one handed on a roof whereas the gyro torque can also be... more
Chris Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark H.
Mayfield Heights, OH
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Leaf Blower
I have used the leaf blower four times since the leaves have started to come down. It has worked very well for me. It has started on the first pull each time.

The 4-cycle engine eliminates mixing gas and oil. Also, not having to drag an extension cord around obstacles in my yard, like I did with my electric blower, is really nice. I am happy so far and hope the Dolmar will last several years.
Mark Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Lawrence N.
Mercerville, NJ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful And Lite Blower
Had this blower for a few weeks now and so far it's a great little machine! Blows leaves, pine needles, small branches without any effort. The product was easy to assemble and started on the first pull.

No regrets with this purchase. My neighbor purchased a STIHL, he's not happy. My blower clears leaves in half the time. you get what you pay for.
Lawrence Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Mikel B.
Lagrange, IN
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/13/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dolmar Leaf Blower
This blower is everything that I thought it should be at a fair price. It starts real easy and is very easy to use and does a very good job of blowing leaves.
Mikel Recommends This Dolmar Product
Mikel's Experience With Leaf Blowers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This bower is the best I have ever used."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Terron W.
Augusta, KS
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I previously bought a Dolmar Leaf Blower and was so pleased I bought one for a friend. It always starts easily, does a great job, and the weight is easy enough to carry for considerable time. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Starts So Easy
Terron Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
32
John S.
White Post, VA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Nice
Used it a dozen times and am impressed. This is a nice machine. So nice to not mix fuel.
Now to use it for a few seasons.
John Recommends This Dolmar Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Anthony D.
Southington, CT
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Starts, runs, and stops just like a good tool should. What more could you ask for?
Anthony Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
15
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials