Search
< Back to Product

McCulloch 966 62 51-01 Gas s Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
McCulloch 966 62 51-01 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Price (14)
Easy To Use (10)
Light Weight (7)
Reliable (6)
Features (4)
Cons
Vibration (4)
Bad Instructions (2)
Difficult To Startdo Not... (1)
Hard To Start (1)
Unreliable (1)
76% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Don
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/11/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than Enough Power
I received the product in a few days and in good condition. It started right away and runs very well.

This unit has more than enough power for me. I would buy this unit again, and will recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
130
Cheri
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/27/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts Easy
This leaf blower starts easier than any 2-cycle machinery I've had. It has plenty of power for the jobs I need, too (clearing driveway, cornering leaves, etc.). Well worth the cost, which was also very reasonable.
Was this review helpful?
120
Ken M.
Victor, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 7/28/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hang On Tight
Bought this blower based on ratings from this website. Unit arrived promptly, instructions are clear and concise, unit starts easily. Quality of construction is consistent with the price. Biggest issue is the tremendous amount of vibration delivered to the hand when operating this unit. My wife won't even use it due to the vibration. I did find a screw on the ground after the first use, and the screw is the same type as used on the unit. It is possible that this screw needs to be... more
Pros: Price, Features
Cons: Vibration
Ken Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Bob
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mcculloch Mc200
Received the McCulloch blower about at week before the estimated delivery. Glanced over the instructions to make sure nothing out of the ordinary needed to be addressed and there wasn't. Filled with gas, choked, primed, pulled, 1/2 choked and pulled two more times and it started. I've used it for almost a month and am very happy. Much better than the previous $75 Homelite blower. One note is that there is a very noticeable new equipment hot smell the first few times it was used.
Was this review helpful?
121
Luke S.
Sharps Chapel, TN
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 3/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Expected
I am pleased with my McCulloch leaf blower. It is lightweight, easy to start and has the power that I was looking for. Very happy with my purchase as well as arriving in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?
100
Kelly
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 4/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yes...even A Woman Can Operate
I ordered online and was expecting my husband to mainly use it, however, with a crazy work schedule and weather it left only me. It was a quick assembly and the quick directions made short work of the start. Six attempts on the first start and I was rolling. Fairly light weight and great power. Thanks for making me look like a stellar wife!
Was this review helpful?
90
Andrew M.
Pine Hill, NJ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 2/28/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Adequate
The online service and delivery was excellent. I've used it once, followed directions, it started right up. Its easy to start, light easy to carry and good for small yard application. Hopefully its durable. Look forward to using it this summer.
Was this review helpful?
80
Thomas
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 1/16/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mcculloch 966 62 51-01
This leaf blower does everything I need, at a very economical price. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
81
Lauren M.
Camp Hill, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 6/15/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item
I bought this for my husband. He loves it. It's made in the USA!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Lauren Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
71
John P.
Mentor, OH
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Handle
I Purchased It a Month Ago. I Use It to Blow Leaves On My 3/4 Acre Lot With Many Trees. It Starts Easily and Is Also Easy to Handle.

I Am Extremely Happy With It. It Also Has Plenty of Cfm. I Would Highly Recommend It to All My Friends.
Was this review helpful?
60
Otis P.
Plano, TX
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy This Leaf Blower
Purchase the leaf blower, however, one must follow directions to get the best use from the leaf blower.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Otis Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Vince N.
Short Hills, NJ
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/24/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gets The Job Done!
I needed to replace my old electric blower and selected this one to meet my needs. Around the pool and walkway, I have a small yard to chase leave so this seemed to fit the bill.

Out of the box, gassed and go! I am using this way more than I did the old one since I don't need to be wired. Performs as advertised.

Also I selected the McCullough due to its reputation, it is also part of the Husqvarna Group who makes many other quality products.
Pros: Price, Reliable, Features, Light Weight
Vince Recommends This McCulloch Product
Vince Would Recommend Leaf Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve W.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hard To Start
Following instructions for a cold start still requires multiple attempts. Takes much more patience than competing brands but performs well once running.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Consistently Hard To Start
Steve Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas S.
Germantown, WI
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/9/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Leaf Blower
Handy to use.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store
Thomas Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard L.
Independence, MO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/6/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Has Only Two Problems!
This machine starts good per the instructions out of the box. It doesn't want to restart after filling a bag of leaves if you let is set for 3 or 4 minutes. It does start with one pull if started sooner. Reason not sure.

It has a problem with the bag, in that the zipper doesn't go down all the way to the corner. It makes it harder to dump. The other problem is a design one in which the unit will blow leaf dust out of a... more
Pros: Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Richard Recommends This McCulloch Product
Richard Would Recommend Leaf Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems. It was an easy buy!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michele B.
Mount Morris, IL
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Advertised
I purchased the unit based on reviews and received pretty much what I expected. Although my father-in-law received the glory of putting it together he had no comments on degree of difficulty but appears to be simple in nature. After filling it with the proper ratio of gas/oil mixture I tried starting it. Without reading the directions it started after 6 pulls. Once I got the technique down it starts after 1 to 2 pulls each time. The unit is well balanced and rests on flat surfaces without... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Vibration
Michele Recommends This McCulloch Product
Michele Would Recommend Leaf Blowers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website directions for ordering and shipping was straight forward and appreciated the rating review section to aid in product selection."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Leonard C.
Darien Center, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/12/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Better Than Raking!
Hard starting. Changed spark plug, a little better, but still 10-12 pulls to start. Once running, it is fine.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Features, Fast
Cons: Vibration, Heavy, Bad Instructions
Leonard Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
We Will See
Looks exactly like the poulan pro I had that was junk.....just a different color...surges at high speed...if I hadn't bought on internet it would go back.
Pros: None
Cons: Durability
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Peter
Bx Nyc, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 5/8/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hand Held Gas Leaf Blower
Works Great delivered on time, was easy to assemble with step by step instructions. 15 minutes, started right up, powerful. Does the job it says. I recommend this product, also its made in the USA.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike D.
Jonesboro, AR
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Love To Buy American
I love to buy American made products and I reluctantly tried the McCullough highly rated leaf blower even though I've had poor experiences with McCullough in the past.

This blower is difficult to start and difficult to shut off. It is nearly impossible to start when warm and I have used several other brands of mowers, weed eaters, tillers, and chainsaws without difficulty.

Growing up I had to cut fire wood with a McCullough chainsaw that would start once a day and the rest of the time... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Difficult To Startdo Not Buy
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave K.
Mount Airy, MD
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Buy This Blower
Nothing, I mean NOTHING is more important to me than a power tool that starts easily. My last blower, purchased just last year, was very very difficult to start and that is totally unacceptable. Yard work is hard enough without spending half your energy ripping on a pull chord.

So after throwing the thing into the trash in frustration I did more research this time and found this unit. Started on the 4th pull right out of the box and has been working great ever since.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Dave Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary R.
Mill Hall, PA
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Starts easy, works great, it is better than I expected
and I wasn't sure the reviews were believable but they were right on. Thanks.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Gary Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Melba C.
Smallwood, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 10/6/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Leaf Blower For The Price
We live in an area where the fallen leaves are knee deep. Clean up has been a breeze with this leaf blower. We haven't used the vacuum feature yet.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Melba Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Pataskala, OH
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/29/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hard To Start
It will not start as stated, takes up to 12-15 pulls to start.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Hard To Start
Robert Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Alan C.
West Nyhack, NY
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 9/14/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's
I needed a new machine...I looked on your website and got what I wanted.....Thank You..
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, Easy To Store
Alan Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
22
David D.
Saint Charles, MO
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 8/2/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Blower
Easy to order, received in record time and, by following the instructions, it was easy to start but after using the first time, I experienced a vibration in my hand and arm. I owned a Ryobi for over 12 years which was much heavier, but very reliable until recently...so I purchased the McCulloch. The first time I used it, I liked the lightweight feeling but after shutting it off, I found that my hand was tingling and vibrating for a few seconds. The second time I used it, I found out that if I... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, Light Weight
Cons: Vibration
David Recommends This McCulloch Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Karl
Purchased from Leaf Blowers Direct
Purchased 11/11/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good One
It's A Dandy.
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials